'E' numbers E100, E110, E120, E 140, E141, E153, E210, E213, E214, E216, E234 and many more, contain pig fat

· 28 Jumada II 1426 AH1 min readFatwa 13247English

Question

I have received a mail from an islamic website stating that the following 'E' numbers E100, E110, E120, E 140, E141, E153, E210, E213, E214, E216, E234 and many more, contain pig fat, but I have seen one of these 'E' numbers on a product that has been certified Halaal. The product in question is ' Beacon whole nut choclate - 100g' . Do I follow the Halaal certification or just exclude everything that contain these E Numbers? Shukran.

Answer

We are based in South Africa and are not fully acquainted with the Halaal and Haraam certifying code of the E-numbers.

However, in principle if you are in doubt, you should exercise precaution and abstain from a product of doubt.

and Allah Ta'ala Knows Best

Mufti Ebrahim Desai

Answered by
Mufti Ebrahim Desai
Questions about this ruling, answered only from the archive with sources.

Where scholars differ, it’s safer to take the more cautious view.

Fatawa SA is an independent, read-only index of fatawa already published by Darul Iftaa Mahmudiyyah. It is not a fatwa service. For your own situation, please ask a Mufti. Report an issue

For corrections or mistakes, please email us at fatawasa786@gmail.com.

People also ask

Are E-numbers and food additives halaal?

“It is essential that you clarify the source of the emulsifier. If the emulsifier contains ingredients derived from a halal animal that is slaughtered according to the laws of Shariah, then such emulsifiers are permissible to…”

Ask Imaam · 25 fatawa from 3 Darul Iftas on this

What the Darul Iftas say