Would it be possible for a Muslim to consume no animal products e.g. meat, cheese, eggs and fish ?

· 30 Rabiʻ I 1431 AH1 min readFatwa 18559English

Question

Would it be possible for a Muslim to consume no animal products e.g. meat, cheese, eggs and fish ?

Answer

In the name of Allāh, Most Gracious, Most Merciful

Assalāmu ῾alaykum wa Rahmatullāhi Wabarakātuh

Islam does not obligate Muslims to eat all halal foods. Therefore, it is permissible for a Muslim not to eat animal products such as meat, cheese, eggs, and fish.

And Allāh Ta῾āla Knows Best

Wassalāmu ῾alaykum

Ml. Sajid bin Shabbir,
Student Dārul Iftā

Checked and Approved by:

Mufti Ebrahim Desai
Dārul Iftā

Answered by
Ml. Sajid bin Shabbir
Checked & approved by
Mufti Ebrahim Desai
Questions about this ruling, answered only from the archive with sources.

Where scholars differ, it’s safer to take the more cautious view.

Fatawa SA is an independent, read-only index of fatawa already published by Darul Iftaa Mahmudiyyah. It is not a fatwa service. For your own situation, please ask a Mufti. Report an issue

For corrections or mistakes, please email us at fatawasa786@gmail.com.

People also ask

Is cheese with rennet halaal?

“Rennet is an ingredient that is used to produce cheese. The sharee ruling regarding rennet is as follows: 1. If the rennet is produced from non-animal sources (i.e. microbial rennet extracted from plants, etc.), then it is…”

Mufti Online · 32 fatawa from 4 Darul Iftas on this

What the Darul Iftas say