Is Quorn meat Halal according to the Hanafi School?

· 11 Safar 1435 AH1 min readFatwa 27762English

Question

We live in the u.k. I wanted to know if quorn meat is suitable for the Muslim diet. Although it has been approved by the vegetarian society, and is stated on packed foods that made from vegetable proteins etc... I have my doubts!! We are hanafi followers.

Answer

In the Name of Allah, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful.

As-salāmu ‘alaykum wa-rahmatullāhi wa-barakātuh.

Quorn products are commercially produced meat-free foods made with Mycoprotein which is extracted from a particular type of fungus used as a substitute for protein-rich foods[1].

You may contact HMC (Halal Monitoring Committee), a reliable Halal authorising body in the United Kingdom, for their advice. Their contact details are on:

http://www.halalhmc.org/mobile/contact.htm

However, if you have a doubt, you should abstain from eating it until you get clarity.

And Allah Ta’āla Knows Best

Hanif Yusuf Patel

Student Darul Iftaa
UK

Checked and Approved by,
Mufti Ebrahim Desai.

www.daruliftaa.net

References (Arabic / Urdu sources)

[1] http://www.premierfoodstrade.co.uk/our-brands/quorn/quorn_home.cfm

Answered by
Hanif Yusuf Patel
Checked & approved by
Mufti Ebrahim Desai
Questions about this ruling, answered only from the archive with sources.

Where scholars differ, it’s safer to take the more cautious view.

Fatawa SA is an independent, read-only index of fatawa already published by Darul Iftaa Mahmudiyyah. It is not a fatwa service. For your own situation, please ask a Mufti. Report an issue

For corrections or mistakes, please email us at fatawasa786@gmail.com.