Is ethanol alcohol from other than grapes and dates permissible in foods and sweets?

· 11 Rabiʻ I 1422 AH1 min readFatwa 3132English

Question

Ethanol alcohol in foods and sweets. In one of your answers you said that coke had alcohol and it was halal because it did not come from dates or grapes. Is it then true to say if the same kind of alcohol is found in sweets or in food is it still permissible to eat the food?

Answer

In the Name of Allah, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful.

As-salāmu ‘alaykum wa-rahmatullāhi wa-barakātuh.

Yes, but with certain conditions. Please see our detailed article which outlines the conditions of consuming foods and drinks that contain this type of alcohol #31176

And Allah Ta’āla Knows Best

Mufti Ebrahim Desai

Answered by
Mufti Ebrahim Desai
Questions about this ruling, answered only from the archive with sources.

Where scholars differ, it’s safer to take the more cautious view.

Fatawa SA is an independent, read-only index of fatawa already published by Darul Iftaa Mahmudiyyah. It is not a fatwa service. For your own situation, please ask a Mufti. Report an issue

For corrections or mistakes, please email us at fatawasa786@gmail.com.

People also ask

Is food containing alcohol halaal?

“Modern-day perfumes which are alcohol-based are made from synthetic alcohol, and not alcohol which is derived from dates and grapes. Therefore, perfumes containing synthetic alcohol are permissible for external use. As such, it…”

Ibn Masood · 46 fatawa from 4 Darul Iftas on this

What the Darul Iftas say