Is the gravy from a haram chicken haram?
Question
I ate some amount of gravy tonight.
Is the gravy in Indian style curry haram if the chicken is not halal ?
Answer
In the Name of Allah, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful.
As-salāmu ‘alaykum wa-rahmatullāhi wa-barakātuh.
The curry will be haram due to the chicken being haram[1].
And Allah Ta’āla Knows Best
Immad Bin Arshad
Student Darul Iftaa
California, USA
Checked and Approved by,
Mufti Ebrahim Desai.
www.daruliftaa.net
References (Arabic / Urdu sources)
[1] الدر المختار وحاشية ابن عابدين (رد المحتار) (1/ 325)
(وماء) بالمد (ورد) أي: جرى (على نجس نجس) إذا ورد كله أو أكثره ولو أقله
- Answered by
- Immad Bin Arshad
- Checked & approved by
- Mufti Ebrahim Desai
Where scholars differ, it’s safer to take the more cautious view.
Fatawa SA is an independent, read-only index of fatawa already published by Darul Iftaa Mahmudiyyah. It is not a fatwa service. For your own situation, please ask a Mufti. Report an issue
For corrections or mistakes, please email us at fatawasa786@gmail.com.
Source: Darul Iftaa Mahmudiyyah — https://askimam.org/public/question_detail/31404
Fatawa SA: https://fatawa.co.za/fatwa/askimam-31404