Is it permissible to sell products which contain such gelatine?
Question
I have a business selling flowers but My business is slowly dying..
I have got an offer to change my shop to sell chocolate and Candy and so forth.. My question is will it be permissible to sell Candy that also container gelatine.. My customers is purely danish nonmuslims and to have a fair selection of Candy you Will have to bring in some with gelatine from swine.. many muslims do it but they write on every box if it contains gelatine or not..
Answer
In the Name of Allah, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful.
As-salāmu ‘alaykum wa-rahmatullāhi wa-barakātuh
If the gelatine was produced from permissible animals according to Shariah like sheep, goat and cow, then it will be permissible to sell products which contain such gelatine. However, if the gelatine was produced from impermissible animals such as pig or not slaughtered according to the Shariah laws and rules of slaughter, then it will not be permissible to sell such products even to non-Muslims. You may consider importing sweets with Halal gelatine, for example from Pakistan.
And Allah Ta’āla Knows Best
Ismail Desai,
Darul Iftaa
Checked and Approved,
Mufti Ebrahim Desai.
- Answered by
- Ismail Desai
Where scholars differ, it’s safer to take the more cautious view.
Fatawa SA is an independent, read-only index of fatawa already published by Darul Iftaa Mahmudiyyah. It is not a fatwa service. For your own situation, please ask a Mufti. Report an issue
For corrections or mistakes, please email us at fatawasa786@gmail.com.
Source: Darul Iftaa Mahmudiyyah — https://askimam.org/public/question_detail/34675
Fatawa SA: https://fatawa.co.za/fatwa/askimam-34675
People also ask
Is gelatine halaal?
“You should enquire regarding the source of the beef gelatin. If the beef gelatin is from bone, it is halal. If the beef gelatin is from hide and the animal is slaughtered according to the Shariah Laws of Zabah, then it is halal.”
Ask Imaam · 62 fatawa from 4 Darul Iftas on this
What the Darul Iftas say