I would like to know if diet coke is halal as it contains wood alcohol.
Question
You have said before that only alcohol from dates and grapes are haram,so is it halal to consume diet coke which contains wood alcohol. Jazakallah khair.
Answer
It is permissible to consume diet coke.
and Allah Ta'ala Knows Best
Mufti Ebrahim Desai
FATWA DEPT.
- Answered by
- Mufti Ebrahim Desai
Where scholars differ, it’s safer to take the more cautious view.
Fatawa SA is an independent, read-only index of fatawa already published by Darul Iftaa Mahmudiyyah. It is not a fatwa service. For your own situation, please ask a Mufti. Report an issue
For corrections or mistakes, please email us at fatawasa786@gmail.com.
Source: Darul Iftaa Mahmudiyyah — https://askimam.org/public/question_detail/3628
Fatawa SA: https://fatawa.co.za/fatwa/askimam-3628