Kefir Milk

· 16 Dhuʻl-Hijjah 1437 AH1 min readFatwa 36744English

Question

I would like to know if drinking kefir is halaal. It seems that the prophet Muhammad AS provided the grains to a particular people. I could not find any authentic narations. None the less there is an amount of alcohol that develops during the fermentation of .01% to 3%. Please provide detailed explanation. Jazakullahu khayran.

Answer

In the Name of Allah, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful.

As-salāmu ‘alaykum wa-rahmatullāhi wa-barakātuh.

Kefir milk is halal.

And Allah Ta’āla Knows Best

Huzaifah Deedat

Student Darul Iftaa
Lusaka, Zambia

Checked and Approved by,
Mufti Ebrahim Desai.

Answered by
Huzaifah Deedat
Checked & approved by
Mufti Ebrahim Desai
Questions about this ruling, answered only from the archive with sources.

Where scholars differ, it’s safer to take the more cautious view.

Fatawa SA is an independent, read-only index of fatawa already published by Darul Iftaa Mahmudiyyah. It is not a fatwa service. For your own situation, please ask a Mufti. Report an issue

For corrections or mistakes, please email us at fatawasa786@gmail.com.

People also ask

Are kombucha and fermented drinks halaal?

“According to your explanation of the procedure of producing kefir milk and Kombucha tea, they are halal.”

Ask Imaam · 15 fatawa from 4 Darul Iftas on this

What the Darul Iftas say