Is sherry vinegar halal or haraam?

Published as Sherry vinegar

· 6 Jumada II 1439 AH1 min readFatwa 39963English

Question

Is sherry vinegar halal or haraam?

Answer

In the Name of Allah, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful.

As-salāmu ‘alaykum wa-rahmatullāhi wa-barakātuh.

Sherry vinegar is a gourmet wine vinegar made from Sherry.1 Sherry vinegar is permissible if there are no effects of alcohol. 2

And Allah Ta’āla Knows Best

Huzaifah Deedat

Student Darul Iftaa
Lusaka, Zambia

Checked and Approved by,
Mufti Ebrahim Desai.

References (Arabic / Urdu sources)

2 فتح القدير-مكتبة رشيدية العناية شرح الهداية- دار الفكر (9/ 39)

( وإذا تخللت الخمر حلت سواء صارت خلا بنفسها أو بشيء يطرح فيها ، ولا يكره تخليلها ) ... ولنا قوله صلى الله عليه وسلم { نعم الإدام الخل } من غير فصل ، وقوله عليه الصلاة والسلام { خير خلكم خل خمركم } ولأن بالتخليل يزول الوصف المفسد وتثبت صفة الصلاح من حيث تسكين الصفراء وكسر الشهوة ، والتغذي به والإصلاح مباح ، وكذا الصالح للمصالح اعتبارا بالمتخلل بنفسه وبالدباغ والاقتراب لإعدام الفساد فأشبه الإراقة ، والتخليل أولى لما فيه من إحراز مال يصير حلالا في الثاني فيختاره من ابتلي به

العناية شرح الهداية- دار الفكر (10/ 107)

ولنا قوله - عليه الصلاة والسلام - «نعم الإدام الخل» من غير فصل، وقوله - عليه الصلاة والسلام - «خير خلكم خل خمركم» ولأن بالتخليل يزول الوصف المفسد وتثبت صفة الصلاح من حيث تسكين الصفراء وكسر الشهوة، والتغذي به والإصلاح مباح، وكذا الصالح للمصالح اعتبارا بالمتخلل بنفسه وبالدباغ والاقتراب لإعدام الفساد فأشبه الإراقة، والتخليل أولى لما فيه من إحراز مال يصير حلالا في الثاني فيختاره من ابتلي به، وإذا صار الخمر خلا يطهر ما يوازيها من الإناء، فأما أعلاه وهو الذي نقص منه الخمر قيل يطهر تبعا

بدائع الصنائع في ترتيب الشرائع- دار الكتب العلمية (5/ 114)

فالتخليل جائز والخل حلال عندنا

فتاوى محمودية جلد- 18 ص 179 -إدارة الفاروق

Answered by
Huzaifah Deedat
Checked & approved by
Mufti Ebrahim Desai
Questions about this ruling, answered only from the archive with sources.

Where scholars differ, it’s safer to take the more cautious view.

Fatawa SA is an independent, read-only index of fatawa already published by Darul Iftaa Mahmudiyyah. It is not a fatwa service. For your own situation, please ask a Mufti. Report an issue

For corrections or mistakes, please email us at fatawasa786@gmail.com.

People also ask

Is vinegar halaal?

“It is permissible to consume balsamic vinegar as long as the effects of alcohol are not present. The Fuqahaa have stated that it is halaal to consume the vinegar made from wine.”

Ask Imaam · 32 fatawa from 4 Darul Iftas on this

What the Darul Iftas say