Are human strain probiotics Halal?

· 11 Shaʻban 1444 AH1 min readFatwa 40453English

Question

Assalamualaikum Warahmatullahi Wabarakaatuhu

Are human strain probiotics Halal?

Answer

In the Name of Allah, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful.

As-salāmu ‘alaykum wa-rahmatullāhi wa-barakātuh.

If the probiotics contain ingredients of an impermissible nature such as human byproducts, then it will not be permissible to consume.[1][2][3]

And Allah Ta’āla Knows Best

Tahmid Chowdhury

Student Darul Iftaa

New York, USA

Checked and Approved by,

Mufti Ebrahim Desai.

(2018-10-20)

References (Arabic / Urdu sources)

[1]

https://www.webmd.com/digestive-disorders/what-are-probiotics#1

[2]

https://www.optibacprobiotics.co.uk/live-cultures/articles/what-are-human-strains

[3]

بدائع الصنائع في ترتيب الشرائع (5/ 125)

ولأن الآدمي بجميع أجزائه مكرم والانتفاع بالجزء المنفصل منه إهانة له

Answered by
Tahmid Chowdhury
Checked & approved by
Mufti Ebrahim Desai
Questions about this ruling, answered only from the archive with sources.

Where scholars differ, it’s safer to take the more cautious view.

Fatawa SA is an independent, read-only index of fatawa already published by Darul Iftaa Mahmudiyyah. It is not a fatwa service. For your own situation, please ask a Mufti. Report an issue

For corrections or mistakes, please email us at fatawasa786@gmail.com.