Soap with pork gelatin derivatives.

· 16 Ramadan 1439 AH1 min readFatwa 40562English

Question

I purchased a liquid body soap and then came to find out that it has gelatin which is derived from pork. Is it permissibe to use? The soap's name is SoftSoap and has different scents/flaours.

Answer

In the Name of Allah, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful.

As-salāmu ‘alaykum wa-rahmatullāhi wa-barakātuh.

A pig is a completely impure animal. It is not permissible to use any product from a pig nor a by-product.

And Allah Ta’āla Knows Best

Huzaifah Deedat

Student Darul Iftaa
Lusaka, Zambia

Checked and Approved by,
Mufti Ebrahim Desai.

Answered by
Huzaifah Deedat
Checked & approved by
Mufti Ebrahim Desai
Questions about this ruling, answered only from the archive with sources.

Where scholars differ, it’s safer to take the more cautious view.

Fatawa SA is an independent, read-only index of fatawa already published by Darul Iftaa Mahmudiyyah. It is not a fatwa service. For your own situation, please ask a Mufti. Report an issue

For corrections or mistakes, please email us at fatawasa786@gmail.com.

People also ask

Is gelatine halaal?

“You should enquire regarding the source of the beef gelatin. If the beef gelatin is from bone, it is halal. If the beef gelatin is from hide and the animal is slaughtered according to the Shariah Laws of Zabah, then it is halal.”

Ask Imaam · 62 fatawa from 4 Darul Iftas on this

What the Darul Iftas say