If L-Cysteine is derived from chicken feathers is it halal to eat?
Question
L-Cystine is an amino acid added to breads and other baked products. Most of l-cysteine produced in the US is made from human hair. One donut manufacturer said its l-cysteine is made from chicken feathers. Would bread containing l-cysteine made from chicken feathers be halal to eat?
Answer
If L-Cystine is made from chicken feathers then it will be halaal and if made from human hair then it will not be halaal.
and Allah Ta'ala Knows Best
Mufti Ebrahim Desai
- Answered by
- Mufti Ebrahim Desai
Where scholars differ, it’s safer to take the more cautious view.
Fatawa SA is an independent, read-only index of fatawa already published by Darul Iftaa Mahmudiyyah. It is not a fatwa service. For your own situation, please ask a Mufti. Report an issue
For corrections or mistakes, please email us at fatawasa786@gmail.com.
Source: Darul Iftaa Mahmudiyyah — https://askimam.org/public/question_detail/5471
Fatawa SA: https://fatawa.co.za/fatwa/askimam-5471