Gelatine derived from Haraam animals
Question
I read that gelatine from non-Halaal animals is permissible because it changes after undergoing processing. What confuses me is why do some Ulama disagree with this? It creates a lot of confusion.
Answer
It is absolutely necessary that you follow one Mufti who will guide you in all matters as this will protect you from confusion. ‘Qalb-e-Maahiyyat’ refers to a complete metamorphosis taking place, when neither the actual item nor any trace of it remains. There are those scholars that state that a complete metamorphosis takes place in gelatine, hence they regard the ingredient to be Halaal, whilst others do not agree with a complete metamorphosis occurring, hence, they regard the ingredient to be Haraam. When there are two views in a matter with one party regarding the ingredient as Halaal and the other as Haraam, then caution dictates that we follow the view of Haraam and refrain from using the ingredient. However, if you followed one Mufti and he informed you that based on his research the ingredient is Halaal, then you may ignore all the other views and follow your Mufti in the matter, as long he followed the proper principles and rulings in reaching his conclusion.
References (Arabic / Urdu sources)
“مَا اجْتَمَعَ مُحَرِّمٌ وَمُبِيحٌ إلَّا غَلَبَ الْمُحَرِّمُ “
وَالْعِبَارَةُ الْأُولَى لَفْظُ حَدِيثٍ أَوْرَدَهُ جَمَاعَةٌ {مَا اجْتَمَعَ الْحَلَالُ وَالْحَرَامُ إلَّا غَلَبَ الْحَرَامُ الْحَلَالَ} .فَمِنْ فُرُوعِهَا مَا إذَا تَعَارَضَ دَلِيلَانِ أَحَدُهُمَا يَقْتَضِي التَّحْرِيمَ، وَالْآخَرُ الْإِبَاحَةَ قُدِّمَ التَّحْرِيمُ (الاشباه والنظائر ص93 ج1)
- Answered by
- Mufti Mohammed Desai
Where scholars differ, it’s safer to take the more cautious view.
Fatawa SA is an independent, read-only index of fatawa already published by Darul Ifta Ibn Masood. It is not a fatwa service. For your own situation, please ask a Mufti. Report an issue
For corrections or mistakes, please email us at fatawasa786@gmail.com.
Source: Darul Ifta Ibn Masood — https://fataawa.co.za/gelatine-derived-from-haraam-animals/
Fatawa SA: https://fatawa.co.za/fatwa/ibnmasood-29063
People also ask
Is gelatine halaal?
“You should enquire regarding the source of the beef gelatin. If the beef gelatin is from bone, it is halal. If the beef gelatin is from hide and the animal is slaughtered according to the Shariah Laws of Zabah, then it is halal.”
Ask Imaam · 62 fatawa from 4 Darul Iftas on this
What the Darul Iftas say