Carmine
Question
I’d like to enquire about the permissibility of the consumption of carmine. I have tried to research this matter on the muftionline site but mainly see the answer to avoid it. I’d like clarification on it being a halaal/haraam item thus its permissibility.
I personally don’t consume it, yet a lot of products contain carmine & sometimes those from Arab countries that bear halaal logos, not finding a direct answer about its permissibility makes it a bit more difficult to warn family members from it’s consumption.
Answer
It is not permissible to consume foods that contain carmine in their ingredients.
And Allah Ta'ala (الله تعالى) knows best.
- Answered by
- Mufti Zakaria Makada
- Checked & approved by
- Mufti Ebrahim Salejee (Isipingo Beach)
Where scholars differ, it’s safer to take the more cautious view.
Fatawa SA is an independent, read-only index of fatawa already published by Mufti Online — Madrasah Ta'leemuddeen. It is not a fatwa service. For your own situation, please ask a Mufti. Report an issue
For corrections or mistakes, please email us at fatawasa786@gmail.com.
Source: Mufti Online — Madrasah Ta'leemuddeen — https://muftionline.co.za/node/35803
Fatawa SA: https://fatawa.co.za/fatwa/muftionline-35803