Can I use a medicine which contains gelatine?

· 8 Safar 1433 AH1 min readFatwa 19675English

Question

I have skin problem specially in my face for many years , and finally the doctor give the final therapy called ACCUTANE . Only for that patient which has severe skin problem ; but i found out there is GELATINE AS AN INGREDIENT. Is it permissible for me to use this?

Answer

Accutane, also known as Isotretinoin is a vitamin A derivative, belonging to a class of medications called retinoids. Retinoids are usually used to treat skin problems. Accutane is used to treat severe types of acne where other medications with less potential side effects have failed to help. It helps to reduce sebum production and, in many cases, can produce remission of the acne condition.[1]

Accutane contains a gelatine pill coating that contains glycerine.[2] Gelatine has been considered harām according to the majority of scholars unless it is from a vegetarian (or halal-slaughtered) source.

The Fuqaha (jurists) state that it will only be permissible to use medication with harām ingredients when a sound doctor gives advice that this is the only medication which will be effective and there is no other alternative available.[3]

In your case, if you are advised by a doctor to use Accutane, it will be permissible to use it.

We make du῾ā’ Allah Ta’āla grants you a speedy recovery. Amīn.

And Allah Ta’āla Knows Best

Mawlana Faraz Ibn Adam,

Student Darul Iftaa

UK

Checked and Approved by,

Mufti Ebrahim Desai.

www.daruliftaa.net

References (Arabic / Urdu sources)

[1] http://chealth.canoe.ca/drug_info_details.asp?brand_name_id=6

[2] http://www.livestrong.com/article/241881-ingredients-of-accutane/

[3] ففي المحيط البرهاني

فإن الاستشفاء بالمحرم إنما لا يجوز إذا لم يعلم أن فيه شفاءً؛ أما إذا علم أن فيه شفاء، وليس له دواء آخر غيره فيجوز الاستشفاء به (ج 7 ص 82 إدارة القرآن)

وكذا في إمداد الأحكام ج 4 ص 319 مكتبة دار العلوم كراتشي

Answered by
Mawlana Faraz Ibn Adam
Checked & approved by
Mufti Ebrahim Desai
Questions about this ruling, answered only from the archive with sources.

Where scholars differ, it’s safer to take the more cautious view.

Fatawa SA is an independent, read-only index of fatawa already published by Darul Iftaa Mahmudiyyah. It is not a fatwa service. For your own situation, please ask a Mufti. Report an issue

For corrections or mistakes, please email us at fatawasa786@gmail.com.

People also ask

Are vaccines and medicines with haraam ingredients permissible?

“He is a perfectly sane adult that is of understanding but squanders his wealth in purchasing drugs. According to Imaam Abu Hanifa Rahimahullah, it is not correct to withhold his personal funds, as in snatching away his funds…”

Ibn Masood · 198 fatawa from 7 Darul Iftas on this

What the Darul Iftas say
Is gelatine halaal?

“You should enquire regarding the source of the beef gelatin. If the beef gelatin is from bone, it is halal. If the beef gelatin is from hide and the animal is slaughtered according to the Shariah Laws of Zabah, then it is halal.”

Ask Imaam · 62 fatawa from 4 Darul Iftas on this

What the Darul Iftas say