Are mayonnaise and butter halal.

· 11 Dhuʻl-Qiʻdah 1433 AH1 min readFatwa 22533English

Question

I want to know weather its halal to consume mayonaise and butter?

Answer

In the Name of Allah, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful.

As-salāmu ‘alaykumwa-rahmatullāhiwa-barakātuh.

In principal, mayonnaise and butter will be Halal (permissible) to consume as long as they do not contain any Haram (impermissible) ingredients or E-numbers.

An E-number that is used in some butters and mayonnaises’ is E441. This is gelatin and is also known as ‘gelfoam’ and ‘puragel’. The ruling for this E-number is that the gelatin from fish and correctly slaughtered (Halal) beef is considered Halal.Gelatin from pork is Haram.[1]

Refer to the following websites for further information. www.sanha.co.za and www.muslimconsumergroup.com.

And Allah Ta’āla Knows Best

Checked and Approved by,
Mufti Ebrahim Desai.

References (Arabic / Urdu sources)

[1]http://www.sanha.co.za/a/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=448&Itemid=261

http://www.muslimconsumergroup.com/e-numbers_list.html?panna=4

Checked & approved by
Mufti Ebrahim Desai
Questions about this ruling, answered only from the archive with sources.

Where scholars differ, it’s safer to take the more cautious view.

Fatawa SA is an independent, read-only index of fatawa already published by Darul Iftaa Mahmudiyyah. It is not a fatwa service. For your own situation, please ask a Mufti. Report an issue

For corrections or mistakes, please email us at fatawasa786@gmail.com.