If the bird is not slaughtered in the halal way, how can l-cysteine extracted from there can be consumed?
Question
You answered a question about l-cystine extracted from chicken feather on april 30 2002 fatwa #5471. i want to confirm that if l-cystine is obtained from bird feather in which the bird is not slaughtered in the islamic way then how can the l-cystine from that bird feather be halal to consume. please provide a small amount of detail for convenience.
Answer
In the Name of Allah, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful.
As-salāmu ‘alaykum wa-rahmatullāhi wa-barakātuh.
The Darul Iftaa has issued a detailed Fatwa on l-cysteine. You may refer to the following link,
http://askimam.org/public/question_detail/21257
And Allah Ta’āla Knows Best
Bilal Issak
Student Darul Iftaa
Leicester, England, UK
Checked and Approved by,
Mufti Ebrahim Desai
- Answered by
- Bilal Issak
- Checked & approved by
- Mufti Ebrahim Desai
Where scholars differ, it’s safer to take the more cautious view.
Fatawa SA is an independent, read-only index of fatawa already published by Darul Iftaa Mahmudiyyah. It is not a fatwa service. For your own situation, please ask a Mufti. Report an issue
For corrections or mistakes, please email us at fatawasa786@gmail.com.
Source: Darul Iftaa Mahmudiyyah — https://askimam.org/public/question_detail/34313
Fatawa SA: https://fatawa.co.za/fatwa/askimam-34313