Is Soy sauce Halaal?
Question
Is soy sauce halal according to the shafi madhab?
Answer
In the Name of Allah, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful.
As-salāmu ‘alaykum wa-rahmatullāhi wa-barakātuh.
We issue rulings according to the Hanafi Madhab, hence our answer is based is upon the Hanafi Madhab:
Soy sauce is a brown, salty liquid used as a condiment or seasoning in many dishes. Soy sauce is made from fermented soybeans, salt, water and sometimes roasted grains and has an earthy, umami flavour, which makes it an ideal all-purpose seasoning.[i]
Most soy sauces contain alcohol from wheat and soya beans.
Alcohol made from sources other than dates and grapes are permissible only with the following conditions: [ii]
It is not used as an intoxicant or to an amount which intoxicates.
It is not used in vain (lahw).
In principle, if the alcohol in soy sauce is from wheat and soya beans, then it is permissible.
You may refer to Shaikh Taha Karan of Cape Town to advise you according to the Shafi’ee Madhab.
And Allah Ta’āla Knows Best
Mahmood Suliman
Student Darul Iftaa
Gaborone, Botswana
Checked and Approved by,
Mufti Ebrahim Desai.
References (Arabic / Urdu sources)
[i] https://www.thespruceeats.com/what-is-soy-sauce-1328450
http://www.madehow.com/Volume-3/Soy-Sauce.html
[ii] الهداية شرح البداية (3/ 170)
ونبيذ العسل والتين ونبيذ الحنطة والذرة والشعير حلال وإن لم يطبخ وهذا عند أبي حنيفة وأبي يوسف رحمهما الله إذا كان من غير لهو وطرب
بحوث في قضايا فقهية معاصرة (ص: 342)
لأن الأشربة المتخذة من غير العنب والتمر تحل عند أبي حنيفة وأبي يوسف بقصد التقوي أو التداوي، ما لم تبلغ حد الإسكار وإن معظم الكحول المستعملة في الأدوية اليوم لا تصنع من عنب ولا تمر، وإنما تصنع من السلفات والكبريتات، والعسل، والدبس، والحب، والشعير، والجودار، وغيرها. فإن كانت الكحول المستعملة في الأدوية متخذة من غير العنب والتمر فإن تناولها جائز في مذهب أبي حنيفة وأبي يوسف رحمهما الله، ما لم تبلغ حد الإسكار، ويمكن أن يؤخذ بقولهما لحاجة التداوي
شرح مختصر الطحاوي للجصاص (6/ 373)
وما عدا الخارج منهما من نبيذ العسل وغيره، لا يجئ منه خمر على الحقيقة بحال، فلذلك لم يعتبر فيه الطبخ، ولم يحد من سكر منه، وكان السكر منه كالسكر من الأدوية المسكرة، فلا توجب حدًا، ولا يكون قليلها محرمًا
الفتاوى الهندية (5/ 414)
وَأَمَّا الْأَشْرِبَةُ الْمُتَّخَذَةُ مِنْ الشَّعِيرِ أَوْ الذُّرَةِ أَوْ التُّفَّاحِ أَوْ الْعَسَلِ إذَا اشْتَدَّ، وَهُوَ مَطْبُوخٌ أَوْ غَيْرُ مَطْبُوخٍ فَإِنَّهُ يَجُوزُ شُرْبُهُ مَا دُونَ السَّكَرِ عِنْدَ أَبِي حَنِيفَةَ وَأَبِي يُوسُفَ - رَحِمَهُمَا اللَّهُ تَعَالَى - وَعِنْدَ مُحَمَّدٍ - رَحِمَهُ اللَّهُ تَعَالَى - حَرَامٌ شُرْبُهُ قَالَ الْفَقِيهِ: وَبِهِ نَأْخُذُ كَذَا فِي الْخُلَاصَةِ فَإِنْ سَكِرَ مِنْ هَذِهِ الْأَشْرِبَةِ فَالسَّكَرُ وَالْقَدَحُ الْمُسْكِرُ حَرَامٌ بِالْإِجْمَاعِ وَاخْتَلَفُوا فِي وُجُوبِ الْحَدِّ إذَا سَكِرَ قَالَ الْفَقِيهِ أَبُو جَعْفَرٍ - رَحِمَهُ اللَّهُ تَعَالَى -: لَا يُحَدُّ فِيمَا لَيْسَ مِنْ أَصْلِ الْخَمْرِ، وَهُوَ التَّمْرُ وَالْعِنَبُ كَمَا لَا يُحَدُّ مِنْ الْبَنْجِ وَلَبَنِ الرِّمَاكِ، وَهَكَذَا ذَكَرَ شَمْسُ الْأَئِمَّةِ السَّرَخْسِيُّ - رَحِمَهُ اللَّهُ تَعَالَى - وَقَالَ بَعْضُهُمْ: يُحَدُّ، وَقِيلَ: هُوَ قَوْلُ الْحَسَنِ بْنِ زِيَادٍ كَذَا فِي فَتَاوَى قَاضِي خَانْ
احسن الفتاوی (جلد 8/ ص 489)
- Answered by
- Mahmood Suliman
- Checked & approved by
- Mufti Ebrahim Desai
Where scholars differ, it’s safer to take the more cautious view.
Fatawa SA is an independent, read-only index of fatawa already published by Darul Iftaa Mahmudiyyah. It is not a fatwa service. For your own situation, please ask a Mufti. Report an issue
For corrections or mistakes, please email us at fatawasa786@gmail.com.
Source: Darul Iftaa Mahmudiyyah — https://askimam.org/public/question_detail/43785
Fatawa SA: https://fatawa.co.za/fatwa/askimam-43785
Same question, other Darul Iftas
The closest match from each Darul Ifta, found by wording. Check that the question matches yours.
Compare the answers side by side