Is the microbial enzymes in cheese halal?

Published as Microbial Enzymes in Cheese

· 21 Jumada II 1442 AH1 min readFatwa 47197English

Question

Is the microbial enzymes in cheese halal?

Answer

In the Name of Allah, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful.

As-salāmu ‘alaykum wa-rahmatullāhi wa-barakātuh.

Microbial enzymes are extracted from molds that possess an enzyme that is similar to chymosin, an enzyme that is found in rennet.[1]

Accordingly, the cheese that is made with microbial enzymes is Halal to consume.[2]

And Allah Ta’āla Knows Best

Shakib Alam

Student - Darul Iftaa

Pennsylvania, USA

Checked and Approved by,

Mufti Ebrahim Desai.

References (Arabic / Urdu sources)

[1] https://www.thespruceeats.com/what-is-vegetarian-rennet-591572

https://www.jensencheese.ca/en/rennet-vs-microbial-enzymes

https://standingstonefarms.com/pages/microbial-rennet-what-is-it-and-how-important-is-it

[2] (سورة البقرة 172,173)

يَاأَيُّهَا الَّذِينَ آمَنُوا كُلُوا مِنْ طَيِّبَاتِ مَا رَزَقْنَاكُمْ وَاشْكُرُوا لِلَّهِ إِنْ كُنْتُمْ إِيَّاهُ تَعْبُدُونَ (172) إِنَّمَا حَرَّمَ عَلَيْكُمُ الْمَيْتَةَ وَالدَّمَ وَلَحْمَ الْخِنْزِيرِ

(سورة البقرة 61)

{وَإِذْ قُلْتُمْ يَامُوسَى لَنْ نَصْبِرَ عَلَى طَعَامٍ وَاحِدٍ فَادْعُ لَنَا رَبَّكَ يُخْرِجْ لَنَا مِمَّا تُنْبِتُ الْأَرْضُ مِنْ بَقْلِهَا وَقِثَّائِهَا وَفُومِهَا وَعَدَسِهَا وَبَصَلِهَا قَالَ أَتَسْتَبْدِلُونَ الَّذِي هُوَ أَدْنَى بِالَّذِي هُوَ خَيْرٌ

Answered by
Shakib Alam
Checked & approved by
Mufti Ebrahim Desai
Questions about this ruling, answered only from the archive with sources.

Where scholars differ, it’s safer to take the more cautious view.

Fatawa SA is an independent, read-only index of fatawa already published by Darul Iftaa Mahmudiyyah. It is not a fatwa service. For your own situation, please ask a Mufti. Report an issue

For corrections or mistakes, please email us at fatawasa786@gmail.com.

People also ask

Is cheese with rennet halaal?

“Rennet is an ingredient that is used to produce cheese. The sharee ruling regarding rennet is as follows: 1. If the rennet is produced from non-animal sources (i.e. microbial rennet extracted from plants, etc.), then it is…”

Mufti Online · 32 fatawa from 4 Darul Iftas on this

What the Darul Iftas say